Master of Science – Patient-Oriented Research (POR) Program Return to TRANSFORM homepage

In 1999 the Irving Center and Columbia's Mailman School of Public Health introduced a new, broadly based didactic training program that prepares young researchers for independent careers as clinical scientists. The Patient Oriented Research (POR) track offers comprehensive didactic training in the fundamental skills required for conducting high-quality clinical and translational research. This two-year, 30-credit Master's degree program is comprised of a multidisciplinary series of courses and colloquia, some of which were designed exclusively for the POR track. The program emphasizes strong quantitative training as well as critical thinking skills and practical strategies for addressing the complex challenges of clinical and translational research, with the overall goal of enabling its trainees to compete successfully for peer-reviewed research funding.

Successful completion of the Master of Science degree in Patient Oriented Research requires a Master's essay in the form of an NIH-style research grant application, written under the supervision of program faculty. Limited-tuition scholarships are available to the most highly qualified applicants each year. Applications from post-doctoral fellows or junior faculty are welcome.

Applications for the MS/POR are due mid-March.
Please visit our website for more information, or contact us directly at the email addresses below.

TRANSFORM Master of Science POR Degree Director

Melissa D. Begg

Melissa D. Begg, ScD
Professor & Vice Dean for Education, Mailman School of Public Health
Co-Director, Columbia CTSA Program

Henry N. Ginsberg

Henry N. Ginsberg, MD
Herbert & Florence Irving Professor of Medicine
Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Research
Director, Columbia University CTSA Program

For more information, please contact Justine Herrera, Director of strategic Academic Planning.


Class of 2017

Kevin Clerkin, MD

Srihari Mahadev, MD

Eileen Connolly, MD, PhD

Anna Podolanczuk, MD

Justin Golub, MD

Emily Vail, MD

Melissa Latorre, MD


Class of 2018

Rita Abdelmessih, MD

Christopher Kelly, MD

Melissa Accordino, MD

Siyang Leng, MD

Adam Bryant, MD

Purnema Madahar, MD

Matthew Finn, MD

Bella Mehta, MD

Arthur Garan, MD

Meghan Prin, MD

Francesca Hwang, MD

Michaela Restivo, MD

Justine Kahn, MD

Brett Youngerman, MD

Graduates of the POR Program

Julian Abrams, MD, MS

Sewanti Limaye, MD, MS

Roy Alcalay, MD, MS

Carlos Lopez, MD, MS

Brett Anderson, MD, MS

Feiran Lou , MD, MS

Karen Anderson, MD, MS

Aimee L. Lucas, MD, MS

Jinsy Andrews, MD, MS

Julian Mackay-Wiggin, MD, MS

Charles Ascher-Walsh, MD, MS

Matthew Matasar, MD, MS

Gudrun Aspelund, MD, MS

Matthew Maurer, MD, MS

Eve Aymong, MD, MS

Bethany Mikles, MD, MS

Neeraj Badjatia, MD, MS

Benjamin Miko, MD, MS

Matthew Baldwin, MD, MS

Carlton Reid Moore, MD, MS

Allegra Broft, MD, MS

Thomas Nickolas, MD, MS

James C. Brust, MD, MS

Siripanth Nippita, MD, MS

Pietro Canetta, MD, MS

Paul Oberstein, MD, MS

Adam Castano, MD, MS

Christopher Ochner, PhD, MS

Allen Chen, MD, MS

Kristin Ognibene, MD, MS

Hyunmi Choi, MD, MS

Santiago Ortega-Gutierrez, MD, MS

Jennifer Chuang, MD, MS

Gabrielle Page-Wilson, MD, MS

Catherine Clelland, MD, MS

Walter Palmas, MD, MS

Rose Cohen, MD, MS

James Peacock, MD, MS

Cheryl Corcoran, MD, MS

Nils Petersen, MD, MS

Thomas Crain, MD, MS

Amanda Pong, MD, MS

Katherine Crew, MD, MS

Bhavana Pothuri, MD, MS

Natalie Cusano, MD, MS

Debra Quinn, MD, MS

Gian Marco De Marchis, MD, MS

Tara Randis, MD, MS

Stacie Deiner, MD, MS

Samiya Razvi, MD, MS

Daniel Donovan, MD, MS

Mishaela Rubin, MD, MS

Darshan Doshi, MD, MS

Carolyn Salafia, MD, MS

Helena Duch, PsyD, MS

Maria Sangiorgio, MD, MS

Andrew Einstein, MD, MS

J. Michael Schmidt, PhD, MS

Steven Engebretson, MD, MS

Scott Schobel, MD, MS

Maryjane Farr, MD, MS

Jonathan Shaffer, PhD, MS

Daniel Freedberg, MD, MS

Reem Sharaiha, MD, MS

Kathleen Friel, PhD, MS

Madeline Sharp, MD, MS

Anjali Ganda, MD, MS

Beverley Sheares, MD, MS

Ragy Girgis, MD, MS

Sujit Sheth, MD, MS

Angela Gomez-Simmonds, MD, MS

Abby Siegel, MD, MS

Philip Graham, MD, MS

Rakesh Singh, MD, MS

Kathleen Graham-Lomax, MD, MS

Anthony Sireci, MD, MS

Zachary Grinspan, MD, MS

Meghan Sise, MD, MS

Dawn Hershman, MD, MS

Aviva Sopher, MD, MS

Lesley Stephens Hanes, MD, MS

Maria Luisa Sulis, MD, MS

Elizabeth Hovey, MD, MS

Viktor Szeder, MD, PhD, MS

May Hua, MD, MS

Aliza Thompson, MD, MS

Kristel Hunt, MD, MS

Aleksandr Tichter, MD, MS

Caleb Ing, MD, MS

Thomas Uldrick, MD, MS

Alexander Iribarne, MD, MS

Nir Uriel, MD, MS

Vaidehi Jobanputra, PhD, MS

David Van, MD, MS

Kevin Kalinsky, MD, MS

Badri Vardarajan, PhD, MS

Mira Katan, MD, MS

Hector Vazquez, MD, MS

Stuart Katz, MD, MS

Corey Ventetuolo, MD, MS

Petra Kaufmann, MD, MS

Elizabeth Verna, MD, MS

Lauren Khanna MD, MS

Marcella Walker, MD, MS

Anupam Kharbanda, MD, MS

Daniel Wang, MD, MS

Minjae Kim, MD, MS

Valerie Waters, MD, MS

Krzysztof Kiryluk, MD, MS

Timothy Wilkin, MD, MS

Kristen Klemenhagen, PhD, MS

Ismee Williams, MD, MS

Nikhil Kumta, MD, MS

Olajide Williams, MD, MS

Eric Lazar, MD, MS

Megan Winner, MD, MS

Benjamin Lebwohl, MD, MS

Jonathan Winston, MD, MS

David Lederer, MD, MS

Siqin Ye, MD, MS

Teresa Lee, MD, MS

Jae-Joon Yim, MD, MS

Jennifer Levine, MD, MS

Brad Zacharia, MD, MS

Deborah Levy Miller, MD, MS

Philip Zachariah, MD, MS

Emerson Lim, MD, MS