“Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.”

― Benjamin Franklin


The Irving Institute for Clinical and Translational Research presents…

The Irving Institute Mentor of the Year Award

If you have received excellent mentoring, please consider nominating your mentor by Friday, April 20, 2018, 2018 by 5:00pm EST. Submit a nomination here

A summary of the basis for the mentor nomination (500 words or less). Some possible topics include but are not limited to fostering independence, taking interest in your professional development, and sharing professional knowledge and experience. Additional considerations will be made for areas in which you benefited such as publications, grants, and work/life balance.

Eligibility: Nominations may come from any student, postdoc and/or faculty member. Mentors must be affiliated with one of the schools on the CUMC Campus (MSPH, P&S, Dental, Nursing, or GSAS). Past awardees are ineligible (see below).

Be advised that mentors will receive notification of nomination and asked for additional information

The chosen Mentor of the Year will receive an award to be presented at a future CUMC event.


leibel 2017 Mentor of the Year
Rudolph L. Leibel, M.D.
Christopher J. Murphy Memorial Professor of Diabetes Research
Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine
Head, Division of Molecular Genetics, Department of Pediatrics
Co-Director, Naomi Berrie Diabetes Center
Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons


maurer 2017 Mentor of the Year
Mathew Maurer, M.D.
Arnold and Arlene Goldstein Professor of Cardiology
Professor of Medicine
Director, Clinical Cardiovascular Research Laboratory for the Elderly


mellman 2017 Mentor of the Year
Lisa A. Mellman, M.D.
Senior Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Samuel Rudin Professor of Psychiatry at CUMC
Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons



karina 2016 Mentor of the Year
Karina Davidson, Ph.D
Professor of Behavioral Medicine (in Medicine and Psychiatry)
Vice Dean for Organizational Effectiveness
Director of the Center for Behavioral Cardiovascular Health
Columbia University Medical Center


Thomas 2016 Mentor of the Year
Thomas M. Jessell, Ph.D
Claire Tow Professor in the Departments of Neuroscience, Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics
Co-director of the Zuckerman Mind Brain Behavior Institute
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator
Columbia University Medical Center


mrax 2016 Mentor of the Year
Steven Marx, MD
Professor of Medicine (in Cardiology)
Director of the Cardiovascular Fellowship Program


rita 2015 Mentor of the Year
Rita Charon, MD, Ph.D
Professor of Medicine
Director of Program in Narrative Medicine
Columbia University Medical Center


franklin 2015 Mentor of the Year
Franklin Lowy, MD
Professor of Medicine & Pathology and Cell Biology
Visiting Professor of Medicine at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Columbia University Medical Center


alfred 2015 Mentor of the Year
Alfred Neugut, MD, Ph.D
Myron M. Studner Professor of Cancer Research (in Medicine)
Professor of Epidemiology
Associate Director for Population Sciences at the Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center
Co-Director for the Cancer Prevention Program at New York Presbyterian Hospital


2013 Mentor of the Year
Larry Abbott, Ph.D
William Bloor Professor of Theoretical Neuroscience
Professor of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics
Co-Director, Center for Theoretical Neuroscience
Columbia University – Department of Neuroscience


shane2.jpg 2012 Mentor of the Year
Elizabeth Shane, MD

Professor of Medicine
Vice Chair of Medicine for Clinical and Epidemiological Research, Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons
Attending Physician, Columbia University Medical Center


For questions, please contact: ctsa_edu@cumc.columbia.edu